Elizabeth Bachinsky goes to Neptune

October 20, 2011 § Leave a comment

First off, I’m pleased to be asked to go to Neptune because if I could be anything other than a poet, I’d be an astronaut, if only for the G-forces on takeoff, the weightlessness once we got into space, and, of course, the view. These are the books I pretty much couldn’t live without because I always go back to them for direction and enjoyment. Turns out these poets are mostly American. Jeez. I didn’t realize I liked American poetry so much … or that it had such an influence on me.

1 The Collected Poems of Frank O’Hara (Knopf, 1971)
2 The Collected Poems of Gerard Manley Hopkins (Oxford 2006)
3 The Collected Poems of Marianne Moore (Penguin, 1994)
4 The Collected Poems of Kenneth Koch (Knopff, 2005)
5 Disobedience, Alice Notley (Penguin 2001)
6 View with a Grain of Sand: Selected Poems, Wislawa Szymborska (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2001)
7 Why Are You So Sad? Selected Poems of David W. McFadden (Insomniac Press, 2007)

The following books I’d include because I either haven’t read them yet and I want to or I haven’t read enough of them and I want to get to know them better.

8 Museum of Accidents, Rachel Zucker (Wave Books, 2009)
9 To Be Read in 500 Years, Albert Goldbarth (Graywolf, 2009)
10 Girls on the Run, John Ashbery (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 1999)
11 Li’l Bastard, David McGimpsey (Coach House, 2011)
12 Come On All You Ghosts, Matthew Zapruder (Copper Canyon, 2010)

And I’d also bring a big newish anthology so that I’d get to read a bunch of things by a bunch of people when I get tired of listening to the same twelve voices over and over. This anthology is a good one that I haven’t dipped into too terribly much yet and when I got home I’d have a lot of poets to look up and look into.

13 American Hybrid: A Norton Anthology of New Poetry (W.W. Norton & Co., 2009)

Elizabeth Bachinsky is the author of three books of poetry: Curio (BookThug, 2005), Home of Sudden Service (Nightwood, 2006), and God of Missed Connections (Nightwood, 2009). She lives in Vancouver, Canada.


Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Elizabeth Bachinsky goes to Neptune at 13 POETRY BOOKS ON NEPTUNE.

meta

